Skip To Main Content

Early Years Program

Early Years Foundation Stage - Ages 2-5 Years

In our Early Years classes, we follow the English Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum which sets standards for the learning and development of children up to 5 years old. The EYFS provides a broad, balanced learning experience, setting the foundations for future education through play and exploration of the world around them. Above all, we believe that learning should be exciting and fun! 

We have 3 Early Years classes and children are grouped by age. Our EY2 class is equivalent to Reception in England.

EYFS Four key principles:

EYFS areas of learning and development

Early Years children play, explore and create through activities shaped by the EYFS seven Areas of Learning and Development. The areas are designed to promote their interests while adapting to individual student’s needs, stimulating their passion for learning and helping them thrive.



Assessment in the Early Years

We regularly check in to see how our Early Years students are progressing, what they can do, and what they know. Our regular observations help us to plan the next steps in learning for each child. 

Should we identify that a child needs extra help or might have special educational needs (SEN), we work closely with parents and our Special Educational Needs Coordinator to put support in place. She can also refer to outside specialists for further advice.

We use Tapestry, an online Learning Journal that the child’s parents can access, to record each child’s steps in learning and ‘Wow’ moments.

id="docs-internal-guid-2e4a5599-7fff-d926-9614-45a982987579">At the end of their Reception year (EY2) children are assessed against the EYFS’s Early Learning Goals.